Chat to Correspondence

During our lives there are people who stay with us and those that pass through. Very often when we have helped them all that we can, they leave us. We might be sad but we know that we have done all that we can do for them.

I like to think that I have played a healing part in their lives and they are ready to take new steps alone.

This poem I wrote for someone who was an important part of my life, but no longer needs me in hers.

Chat to Correspondence

It started with Hi on a single text, it made me smile

It was the first step, a starting point

I replied Hi, it wasn’t a bolt of lightening

The gentle start was just what I was looking for.

 

Excitedly it became more, you wanted to know me

You needed a friend, I was happy to be one

You suggested email as you said it would be easier,

Why I thought, it’s not instant, but it was.

 

You emailed me constantly, frenzied and fast

I responded with the same amount of excitement and speed

Your world was falling apart, you needed to download

All I could do was listen, by reading your words.

 

You sounded panicky, in pain needing a release

There was nothing really I could do from this side of the screen

I could feel your pain, your anxiety your distress

I sat here feeling useless and inadequate

 

The chat stopped, instantly like losing a limb

There was nothing at all, I kept looking

I waited, I ached, I worried, I wondered

What had happened to you? Where were you? Did you still need me?

 

Finally a solitary email arrived

The tune had changed you were different

You found your strength, you found a voice again

There was no more chat between us

 

I’ve done my job, I step back, slightly sad

I helped you grow, I’m not needed anymore

I have lost a friend, but I know there are more to gain

Your chat now is just correspondence, I am pleased you are yourself again

One thought on “Chat to Correspondence

  1. odette67 says:

    that really moved me

Leave a Reply

