Hidden in a Cloak

Face is set with a smiling beam

Bounce in my feet as I enter the room

Joy in my voice as I converse with others

this is the me that others can see

 

The invisible cloak is worn today

I pull it tight, no gaps appear

It is my comfort blanket

I feel safe and warm

 

Why and what are you hiding

Hurt, for I cant say where the pain is

Sadness, for I cant show my tears

Disappointed, but I cant explain why

 

So hidden in the cloak

Are the bits that I cant share with the world

just for a while, I keep it tight around me

Self preservation, until I am stronger

 

 

Leave a Reply

