The Cable Car

I hide my fear of heights,

on a cliff edge, or a high building

I go to jelly.

Sometimes I have to get through fear

to enjoy those things around me

 

The cable car descends towards me

If I look where I’m going I will falter

I board, with my back against the mountain view

It rises slowly, I fix on the ocean

 

Big houses now appear smaller

Tops of the trees appear under my feet

The ocean is wider and further away

as distance between me and the ocean is lengthened

 

Washing appears on lines in gardens

banana plantations, terraces of vegetables

The roads look like those on a google map

Cars are like ants whizzing along

 

As I peek behind me big clouds appear

they seem to be closer

The harbour is now a dot in the distance

The cable car stops, we are at the top

 

I breath a sigh of relief

the view is magnificent

my fear over come, it was worth it

However I still have to get down again

Leave a Reply

