Poppy for a life

As I walked with the crowd

the end in sight

a river of red poppies

stretched

out before my eyes

silence deafened me

Stillness around me

I stood, looked watched

thoughts of families

from my past

fighting for king and country

gave their lives

for peace for all men

still the pain lives on

so now I join others

each with a memory

and each one with a poppy

keeps each person alive

may they never fade

and may we always remember

without those who died

we may not be here

Leave a Reply

