Mr Robin

the walk through the woods

is a lonely one

the dog runs off

i am left alone

then from the corner of my eye

I see movement

there on a tree trunk

is my company

‘Good morning Mr Robin

How are you today?’

He tilts his head, looks up at me

as if to say

‘very well thank you, may i join you?’

I smile and watch him

as I walk through the mud

He flies from branch to branch

his red breast puffed out

he waits for me to catch him up

we move together in silence

its nice to know hes there

and at the end of my walk

he looks once more as if to say

until tomorrow have a good day

he flies off down the path

it was nice to have his company.

Leave a Reply

