Just let me sleep

In the depths of the dark

the niggles of the day

are the worries of the night

my mind turns continually

it escalates out of control

the aches of the day

turn to pains in the night

concentrated and relentless

I just want to sleep

for the bed to engulf me

I watch the clock on the ceiling

each minute is an hour

its slow to move forward

I just want to sleep

i slow my breathing,

i count sheep

the warmth of the duvet

curls around me

I hope I drift off.

Leave a Reply

