I Guess

So today for one month I am joining NaPoWrimo’s one poem a day.

Each day there is a prompt.  So where is todays poem.

Warm up was from this:-  http://venusofnatalie.tumblr.com/post/111465348701/essay-by-bernadette-mayer

.

I guess it’s too late to live on a narrow boat

I guess it’s too late to buy a boat

I guess it’s too late to be boats woman

I guess it’s too late for me to own a boat

I guess I’m too old to work the locks

I guess the dog wouldn’t like the boat

I guess he wouldn’t want to swim in the canal

I guess I could sit on top of the boat and write poems

Will all the inspiration from the water

The ducks, geese and water birds

I guess there are boating poets

I look and find

Jo Bell, she was the Canal laureate,

Living her dream

I could do that, I could be a boating poet

I could write just that moment in time

If I wanted to live on a boat

I would have to give up the house

Change the way I live

Use up all my money

I am not too old to live on the water

The dog would adore the freedom

It’s made me think, long and hard

I might be a narrow boating poet

2 thoughts on “I Guess

  1. Tokoni O. Uti says:

    Cute poem! 🙂

  2. moderndadpages says:

    Very nice poem! 🙂

Leave a Reply

