Cup of tea, not a cup of tea

So today’s poem is two.  Napowrimo suggested writing a palinode. It’s a poem in which the poet retracts a statement made in an earlier poem.

chai

Cup of tea

.

I’d like a cup of tea

Just the right colour

Yes I want milk

No to the sugar

I’d like the Spode mug

Because it’s thin

I like my tea in bone china

The way it should be

.

Not a cup of tea

.

It wasn’t that tea I wanted

I really don’t like tea

It’s not that I’m being fussy

I don’t like the taste

I haven’t changed my mind

And what I’d like is tea

Not builder’s tea,

Or a branded tea

But a nice spicy Chai

In my Spode mug, of course.

Leave a Reply

