Kiss Me Quick Hat

As the tide washes up

On the pebble beach

The sun starts to fade

Feet sink into pockets of sand

Squeals come from the sea

One foot on the pier

We tentatively step

With music blasting

And ‘kiss me quick’ hats

The soft ice creams

And the slot machines

You kiss me,

Wind blows in my face

Seagulls screech overhead

People bustle and bump

With hot dogs and pancakes

Laughing and joking

Kids running around

As I trip on the planks

I look down through the gaps

Will I fall, will they break

Will I get sucked out to sea?

Not today you hold my hand

The smells of sweet sugar

Chocolate and sea

Fill me with images of my childhood

Henna tattoos and stalls filled with tat

Yet all of them bustling

Things to take home

To put in a box

For the memory game

Much later in life.

The fairground rides

Perched on the end

And the haunted house

Makes me smile

I look at you

You look out to sea

At the boats bobbing along

At the men with fishing rods

At the kids jumping in

Where they should know better

Then you glance at me

And smile

No words exchanged

What thoughts in your mind

Are they a jumble like mine?

As we step off the pier

Join the throng of the crowd

The seaside experience

Left behind

With the ‘kiss me quick’ hat

And a smile and a laugh

And memories built

Which were made to last.

2 thoughts on “Kiss Me Quick Hat

Leave a Reply

