Alone

Day 26 of Napowrimo

 

That lance of light that slid across the dark

I watch as it swiftly disappeared

That cloak of darkness shrouds the light

Time ticks as I wait for it to depart

That blanket of quietness masking every sound

I listen for a sign I am not alone

That cloud of stillness resonating around me

I feel its coldness on my skin

That weight of heaviness as I fall asleep

I am unaware of time slipping by

That shard of light that peeps through the curtains

I am still alone, in the tranquility of morning.

Leave a Reply

